Expanded DACA will be available February 18, 2015

President Obama announced a new series of executive actions related to Immigration on November 20, 2014. The first part of these executive actions, (Expanded) Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) will be available beginning February 18, 2015. The USCIS will begin accepting applications on 2/18/2015 and not any time before. Below is a summary of USCIS’s guidelines for the new program.

(Expanded) Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program

– Individuals with no lawful immigration status who are seeking initial or renewal DACA.
Extends the deferred action period and employment authorization to three years from two years, and allows you to be considered for DACA if you:
– Entered the United States before the age of 16;
– Have lived in the United States continuously since at least January 1, 2010, rather than the prior requirement of June 15, 2007;
– Are of any age (removes the requirement to have been born prior to June 15, 1981); and – Meet all the other DACA guidelines.
February 18, 2015 (USCIS will not accept requests for expanded DACA before that date.)
Go to the Consideration of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) page for instructions which will be updated.

Source of Information:
USCIS.gov, 1/29/15, Web Page:
Executive Actions on Immigration – DACA

Posted in:

Comments are closed.